Rant for the day

03.11.2005 - 7:36 pm

I have a few rants today. It's been a long time since I really ranted here.

There's this car at work with an obnoxious bumper sticker ... "Christians aren't perfect, just forgiven" Um, hello?!?! What makes Christians so special? Speaking from experience, the ingrained Catholic guilt is not something to erase from my brain. I don't think ever. Eh-VER! So Ms. Christian (I know it's a woman because I saw her driving off the lot today), I have a question, are you forgiven for violating one of the 7 deadly sins? Are you forgiven for binding your girlfriend and raping multiple times? And are you then forgiven for killing three people and hurting 2 others while you carjack from an innocent person in Atlanta, Georgia? Are you ever forgiven for taking the Lord's name in vain? For coveting thy neighbor's wife? Or husband for that matter? It bothers me more for it's narrow-mindedness than anything else. And of course my deep resentment for anything Christian.

Like, what the hell is up with Mel Gibson?! He took out 6 minutes of his movie and changed the name so it's acceptable for a child to watch?! Do you ever think that story, in that gorey detail (not the airbrushed version at the children's mass for Easter) is appropriate for children? If you won't let your child watch any of the variety of disturbing movies out there, why this one?

And to a reference I made up above, what the fuck is wrong with this man ? It's bad enough to be on trial for such a violent crime as rape. So where in his brain did he think it would be a good idea to overtake a law enforcement officer, kill three people and run away? Does he honestly believe he'll get away with it? Who wants to bet he'll end up dead on some highway? I'm so frustrated with people not being accountable for their actions ... "I had a crummy childhood." ... "I didn't graduate high school" ... "McDonald's made me do it" Own up to the responsibility of being a human being on planet earth. No one can fix your life but yourself. No one. There is no magic pill, no virtual reality, no alternative universe that will erase what you are trying to avoid.

Grrrrrr.

last - next