Guess what Elmo is thinking about today!!

03.07.2004 - 5:13 pm

Quite a weekend, and finally winding down. Yesterday Munch woke up and I found some milk that she threw up. I didn't think of anything of it. Cleaned her up, cleaned the crib up, gave her more milk and we carried on our day. Nick took her out for awhile when I went to get a haircut. He said she spit up a bit of her lunch-milk, not a huge amount. And we carried on.

After Nick and I had an appointment, we decided to go out to dinner. To a place I thought was a $15-plate kind of place, and turned out to be a $20-something a plate. Still casual, they didn't turn us away at the door (although maybe they should have). Munch had yams and tofu, and milk. Nick and I had some yummy seafood. Towards the end of the meal, I was holding Munch. It was getting very close to her bedtime, she was falling asleep on me, we didn't think anything of it. Until the very end when we asked for our check, Munch raised her head, leaned back, looked and me, and projectile vomitted the contents of her stomach all over me. Nick jumped up to take her so we could start wiping up. Munch is sitting on the table and Nick is holding her while I'm trying to mop up baby vomit. Again, the mouth opens and she spews projectile. And again and again. I think it was four times total, maybe have been five. Nick took her to the bathroom to clean her up and change her clothes. I sat at the table and continued to clean up. The very gracious host offered to take my sweater and rinse it out in the back. All puke came out of all clothing articles.

Yep, that stomach flu hit us again.

When Nick and I went to bed we were laughing about it. The projectile vomit was this combination of humor and horror at the same moment. We both stayed very calm and focused on taking care of Munch. We started talking about how Elmo should do an Elmo's World on vomit (this will only make sense if you regularly watch Sesame Street).

--Guess what Elmo is thinking about today! VOMIT!

--Let's ask Mr Noodle to demonstrate vomitting.

--Look! Dorothy is imagining Elmo vomiting!

--Let's sing the Vomit Song...Vomit Vomit Vomit, Vomit Vomit Vomit, Vomit. Vomit.Vomit. Vomit Vomit...

(well you get the picture).

Hm, maybe you needed to be there.

last - next