It's my birthday, have a party

12.10.2003 - 8:51 pm

Today's my birthday. Yahoo for me. I used to get really excited about my birthday, very princess-me-me-me like. It's different this year. Maybe it's Munch being here, or I'm not liking getting older or I feel too old to get excited about my birthday anymore. Maybe next year I'll just stay in bed all day. Although I wouldn't mind doing that tomorrow...

We went downtown today. Saw Santa at Nordstrom. I told Nick I only wanted to do the full to-do affair this year since it's her first. Next year we'll go to the local mall. Anyway, she did great. She was looking at him with this inquisitive Munch look, I thought she was going to pull on his beard. I hope the pictures come out OK. But what surprised me, is Santa just sat there. Granted, my daughter is 7 1/2 months old, she's not really going to ask him for any gifts. But I was watching him with the kids ahead of us. He didn't say much of anything. No "Ho Ho Ho's", I don't think the kids in front of us even asked Santa for anything. It was weird, really weird (another reason I won't go back to Nordstrom to see Santa). I want the jolly old guy with a twinkle in his eyes. Maybe I'm just trying to relive my childhood.

I got some pretty awesome gifts this year. Nick gave me diamond earrings, a family heirloom. They look really nice, I'm quite touched. Feel so special. Yay.

I think that's about it. We are having a pot-luck at work tomorrow. I said I was going to bake a cake. Nope, too wrapped up in my birthday today. So I'll be going to the supermarket in the morning. Oh well, such is life no?

last - next