School of Rock

11.11.2003 - 9:52 pm

I just came home from my night off. I went to dinner, read some of my next bookclub book, and went to a movie. I went and saw School of Rock. This movie was so funny, and in a weird way, inspiring and depressing (?) for me. I always do this, I go to some music-related event and I get the fire to do something that I've always been passionate about.

I wanted to study music in college. But my dad forbade me. Yeah, in my present state of strength and determination, I wouldn't stand for something like that. But when I was 18, I didn't have the experience, knowledge and belief I do at 32. Anyway, I digress. I didn't study music, I studied math. I got a degree, got the good job, and here I sit rather miserable working for "the man". I go and see movies like this and I want to do something music. I don't know what, become a music teacher? Form an all-girls Guns n' Roses cover band? And even as I sit here and type this I'm losing my momentum. My desire, it's burning away.

So I got in the car and popped in Renegade Soundwave, one of the very few tapes I own anymore (long story, I have a tape deck, no CD player). I was blaring it and listening to some old high school favorites.

...sigh...

What am I going to do with my life?

last - next