irritated

09.11.2002 - 7:50 pm

I'm so sick of the media. I tried to avoid all the newspapers and TV reports today. I'm a (mostly) devoted NPR listener, but today was too much. This morning they were switching between the three ceremonies, this evening many reports and stories and SOME of us don't WANT to band together and stuff. I had to go to this poetry reading at 11am that my SVP did, I felt numb. I didn't hear a word she said, I didn't want to hear it. It's not that I want to ignore or belittle the horrendous things that happened one year ago today...I still feel sad about it. It still makes me cry.

I just don't want it shoved down my throat. I want to grieve and remember and heal on my own terms. Isn't that what grieving is all about? On our own terms?

I was surprised how many journals I've read today that have similiar thoughts. I feel that it goes back to those of us that are Alive and those that are Asleep in this world.

Sigh...

last - next