ANGER!!

08.01.2002 - 8:14 am

I think I'm on the verge of a nervous breakdown. You know, HR is a thankless job! If anything, HR can never do anything right. HR are scapegoats. HR is a "fluff" organization that isn't profitable or worthy of the budget.

I'm tired. For someone like myself, someone that has always struggled with recognition�even being seen for that matter�I chose the wrong profession. As I learn more about databases and this conversion we are going through, working in IT looks more and more attractive every day. Sure, I get recognition and pats-on-the-back from my boss and co-workers, but they are down-trodden too.

This all stems from a memo that the Payroll Supervisor and I sent this week about a change in how exempt staff are being handled in the database. I have people ARGUING with me about 20 cents. Get a fucking life! Are you that hard-up Mr-I'm-A-Programmer-Making-$80thousand-A-Year for 20 FUCKING CENTS?!?! God get a GRIP!

Nick always compares my company to working at the state. Well, when a highly compensated individual is squawking about 20 friggin cents�who would argue.

Can you tell I'm angry today? I'm still not feeling well.

+++

I have a desk calendar of the Stupidest Things Ever Said. Yesterday's read...

Do not attempt to stop chain with your hands. warning in a chain saw manual

Now, you KNOW the only reason that was in a manual is some idiot tried to stop a chain saw with his hands and sued the manufacturer because he wasn't specifically told not to do it. And that is the stupid part...

(big sigh)

last - next