shoplifting

07.09.2003 - 8:18 am

I witnessed something yesterday that disturbed and saddened me. Munch & I were waiting for some prescriptions to be filled...poor thing has a yeast infection in her neck folds because it doesn't get enough air and exposure...she doesn't seem to mind though. Anyway, while sitting in the chairs at S'way a young boy walked down the aisle towards us. This would be the aisle with "feminine protection products" and other sex-related wares. He stopped in front of the condoms, or so I thought, Good for you responsible boy! But then he bent down. Having bought something myself from these lower shelves I knew he was inspecting pregnancy tests. My heart sank a bit and thought that I hope my daughter isn't irresponsible with sex. He stared at the various boxes for a few minutes, then picked one and started to walk away shaking the box. I kinda felt good again thinking he's being mature enough to go to a store to purchase a pregnancy test for his girlfriend/fuck buddy/one-night-stand. Then I noticed what left me feeling ill. He put the box into the pocket of his hooded sweatshirt and continued shaking his arm. My first instinct was to grab someone from the pharmacy and alert them to what just happened. Yes, to tattle. I didn't though. I sat there staring and feeling a bit bothered that I didn't try and stop him.

I'm not quite sure why it left me feeling ill. I don't know if it's because I witnessed him shoplifting and didn't stop it. Or if it reminded me of the time I lifted some gum from Kmart when I was about 8 years old and was caught by some lady who told me that was wrong (probably contributed to my OC tendencies since I thought about it for many years to come) Anyway, maybe it was just another sign of what I find wrong with young people. And my fears that my children may hang in such a crowd. I can only trust that my parenting abilities empower my children to be thoughtful and analytical and honest in making life choices. That's all any parent can do right?

Today Munch and I have yoga and then go to our new house inspection. It's going to be a very full day!

last - next