death penalty

June 20, 2002 - 4:42 p.m.

So you've heard the news about the Supreme Court deciding executing "mentally retarded" (isn't that un-PC?) people is illegal, wrong, bad mojo, etc.

While listening to NPR on the ride home, a few times it was mentioned that the execution of disabled individuals goes against the amendment stating we are all free from cruel & unusual punishment ...at least the unwilling kind... So, how is a disabled person any different than you or I? If I was accused of some wretched crime and up for the death penalty, couldn't I now argue that it's cruel & unusual punishment? Maybe this ruling will do MORE to abolish the death penalty in this country than anything else. I haven't heard Amnesty International stance on this yet, have you? They had a foot note, *Gallup Poll findings from May 23, 2002 indicated that 82% of Americans oppose the use of the death penalty for the mentally retarded, while 13% support it. Again, I ask...what's the difference for you and I?

+

In other news, Buster is trying to crawl under the door to get a spider. Funny! Work is nearly done for the week, I've been so busy this week, I'm really looking forward to the weekend and the Fremont Fair. Maybe I'll invite Nick to the parade with me (I was thinking I wanted some time alone this weekend).

And, I think I'm finally starting to crawl out of this depression I've been in for about a week. It's about time...

+

Don't get strung out

By the way I look

Don't judge a book by it's cover

I'm not much of a man

By the light of day

But by night I'm one hell of a lover...

Frank-n-Furter, Rocky Horror Picture Show

last - next