various political rants

June 19, 2002 - 7:20 p.m.

hm, on the drive home I had so much to say, and now it's gone. I'm so slammed this week. Maybe I should start working 4 10's so I can have an extra day off every week. I'm already doing 9 hours a day, what's one more?

I had a thrilling management meeting to attend to this afternoon, then a dentist appointment (no cavities!) Did you ever feel that fingernails-on-the-chalkboard when they are scraping your teeth? I never had before now...I have a new hygienist.

What else, while listening to NPR on the ride home, Teri Gross was interviewing Matt Damon. She was asking him about getting in to character, and how at times he has slimmed down or beefed up. Did you know that man once used laxatives to prepare for a roll?! THIS is what is wrong with America (well, one thing). Some big-name Hollywood person is announcing on national radio that he used laxatives to keep his weight down. FUCK! It's no wonder we all have such messed up ideas of body-image. (Mine hasn't been too good lately) Not that the general American public listens to NPR (a-hem), but seriously folks!

Oh yeah, that was the other thing. On Marketplace, there was a commentary from a Comedian that was raised in the "Church" and attended Catholic School. His idea on how the church can save face is to allow priests to marry and have families. OK...um...sorry to disappoint you, but being married to an adult woman (remember, no females may be priests in the Catholic church) will not curb desires to have sexual relations with children. Am I the only one that thinks this is true? Cannot be, when Pi was out here for my wedding we had this talk. That neither of us was surprised in the least that the church is plagued with pedophiles. What we were shocked with was how stunned everyone else was that this could happen in their precious church. Say I'm wrong if you feel so inclined, but think about it....the Church that has you take an oath of celibacy, and puts you in an environment where you are sure to be shaping young minds...I bet these men entered the church to "cure" themselves of these evil desires (because God can save all) and instead found themselves in the perfect place to pursue their pleasures.

I was about to apologize for being so vulgar and such, but you know what else, this is how I feel and I don't have to justify that to anyone. This is my fucking journal right?!

ARGH!!! Ignorance breeds ignorance, it is not bliss!

last - next