Six Degrees of Separation

March 18, 2001 -

So Nick and I went to this party last night. A St. Patrick�s Day Event at his friend�s home. A woman that�s an incredible artist. In a beautiful home with a view that�s warm and inviting and full of eclectic and friendly people.

I saw this guy that just looked so familiar. It was weird. One of those...do I really know him or is it just a mental thing. Then Nick and I were in the den chatting and being shmoopy (recognize a theme yet). And I look over at this guy, who is standing there with a glass of red wine, holding it by the stem, swirling it, chatting with his other 3 wine connoisseur friends...and it dawns on me!

�Does J belong to a dinner club that meets once a month for good food and better wine?� (or I said something like that, not as articulate...)

�Yes, why?�

�OH MY GOD!!! That guy over there, the one with the thick geeky glasses, he was Date #1...� And I burst into hysterics.

For those of you that don�t know, because I haven�t created the archive of my dating escapades as of yet...I began the dating/slut phase in late August. The first guy I conversed with was a relatively smart MicroSoftie, about my age, very conversational in the online world. He told me he was 5�11�...witty...great conversationalist...and good looking (OK, chalk that one up to my gullibility!)

What I met at that restaurant in the Market was a quiet, nerdy looking type. NOT a conversationalist at all! Not witty and certainly not attractive. But the best part is when we stood to leave, as he was going to walk me to my car. I was taller than him. Without heels/Docs I�m 5�4�. With heels/Docs I�m at most 5�6�. And I was taller than him.

Why did he lie? Like I�m NOT going to figure out he lied about his height? Would we have spent our dating relationship (if it even had a chance of getting there) in the seated position? Puh-leeze! Grow up men, women are smart. We have eyes. Lies do not go past us.

And that�s all there is to say!

last - next